Online Clearance Shopping, Free Shipping, Online Sales and Coupons at MyBargainBuddy.com

Go Back   MyBargainBuddy Forums > Feedback
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-24-2006, 03:17 PM
Big Buddy

Oceangirl is a rising starOceangirl is a rising starOceangirl is a rising starOceangirl is a rising starOceangirl is a rising starOceangirl is a rising star
Default Sales Tax

Intrastate or Interstate sales taxes - what's the story? How does it affect internet purchases? I'm in Calif. Thanks.
Old 11-24-2006, 06:53 PM
Administrator

Karen is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to allKaren is a name known to all

I'm really not an expert on that kind of stuff. From what I understand, you're only charged sales tax if the store has a location in the state you live in.
Old 11-25-2006, 07:12 AM
Big Buddy

SLance68 is a jewel in the rough

That is partially true. If you purchase a item off line and don't pay sales tax for the state you live in you are required to contact the Department of Revenue for your state and get a form for a 1 time tax remittance and pay the sales tax yourself. Our company got audited a couple of years ago and got busted for purchasing computers on line and not remitting the sales tax. This applies to businesses and individuals. I know no one does it but it is a law and most people are unaware of the law regarding sales tax remittance.

The company you are purchasing from should have a sales tax number for all states if they are shipping to all states - they do not have to have a retail/store in every state they are just required to sign up with every Dept of Revenue and collect/pay the sales tax to each state. If the company does not charge you sales tax you are still responsible for the tax.